Nevada DUI Consequences
Whether you’re an experienced driver or just received your license, you probably know that it is against the law to drive while under the influence of alcohol—and given the number of motorists who are injured and killed in alcohol-related accidents each year, you can certainly see why. Yet despite these risks, driving under the influence (DUI) remains a common criminal offense in the United States, and countless individuals are arrested for drunk driving every day. Unfortunately for those who are convicted, the charge often carries a number of severe penalties. Nevada DUI consequences, for example, include a mandatory license suspension and fine, as well as a possible jail sentence—even if it is your first conviction.
In Nevada, the penalties for a DUI conviction are primarily based upon the offender’s prior record of driving under the influence. If this is your first offense, your sentence could include a fine ranging from $400 to $1,000, 48 to 96 hours of community service, and a 90-day license suspension. In some cases, the judge may also impose up to a six-month jail sentence and/or order you to complete a court-approved alcohol treatment program.
If you are convicted of a second DUI within seven years after your first conviction, you’re sure to receive a much harsher punishment than before. Under state law, a second drunk driving conviction carries a minimum $750 fine, one-year license suspension, and up to a six-month jail sentence. As with your prior sentence, you may also be required to perform community service and/or undergo treatment for substance abuse.
Drivers who are convicted of two DUIs within a seven-year period will face even more stringent sentencing guidelines if they are charged with a third offense. Classified as a felony, a third DUI carries a minimum one-year jail sentence, $2,000 to $5,000 fine, and a three-year license suspension. A felony conviction may also result in the loss of numerous personal rights, including your right to vote, purchase firearms, and obtain a passport.
Along with the court-imposed sentence for DUI, convicted drunk drivers often face long-term consequences due to their conviction. In fact, whether you were found guilty of a first offense or a felony DUI, your conviction will remain on your criminal record for the rest of your life—and as you can imagine, this will undoubtedly pose problems for you in the future.
For example, many employers, housing providers, and even colleges or universities will not consider applicants who have been convicted of a crime in the past. A DUI conviction can even affect your insurance rates, as most insurers charge individuals with a history of drunk driving much more for coverage (often two to three times more than a person who has never been convicted of DUI).
Fortunately, there are many ways to bypass the consequences of a DUI conviction. With the right legal strategy, you may be able to prove the charges against you are unwarranted and avoid a DUI conviction. To learn how you can improve your chances of obtaining a favorable outcome to your case, submit your information online today to receive a free, no-obligation consultation with a skilled DUI defense attorney in your area.